Administration Office

20.townhallThe Town of Pictou has provided responsible administration for over 135 years. Government exists to serve the needs and interests of its citizens. The Town is divided into two wards governed by Town Council consisting of the Mayor and four Councillors. All members of Council are elected ward officials. The Mayor provides political leadership, viewing the activities and operations of the Town as a whole. Other responsibilities of the Mayor include ceremonial functions, public relations and ambassador for the Town.

The Town of Pictou Chief Administrative Officer, Kyle Slaunwhite, is responsible to Council for the proper operation of Town affairs. He can be reached at 902-485-4372 or email

The Town of Pictou Administration Office, located at 40 Water Street is where the office of the CAO is located. The Administration office is the point of contact for all general inquires, water bills, taxes, recreation programs and for municipal election information. The Town Finance Department is responsible for all financial duties for the Town of Pictou which includes the General Operating Fund, Water Utility and Capital Operations.

The Town is policed by the RCMP. Answers to other more frequently asked questions maybe found by clicking on the following link. <FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS>

General Contact:

Town of Pictou
40 Water Street, P.O. Box 640
Pictou, NS, B0K 1H0
Ph: 902-485-4372
Fax: 485-8110